The history of The Dundas Arms.
Although the exact origin of The Dundas Arms remains somewhat of a mystery, this Grade II listed Georgian inn has most likely been providing sustenance to hungry and thirsty travellers in the picturesque village of Kintbury since the end of the 18th century.
It was in 1794 that the first “Navvies”, as they were called, began the construction of the Kennet & Avon Canal – the only waterway to link London via the Thames with Bristol in the West. The man behind this great project was Charles Dundas, who lived at nearby Barton Court. When the first section of the canal was completed in 1797, Charles marked the occasion with a ceremony at Kintbury, including a procession down the waterway to Newbury headed by a military band aboard a barge. One can only imagine that The Dundas Arms was named after this illustrious character.
Since then, The Dundas Arms has gone on to become a destination pub in its own right and has won numerous awards and accolades including four stars from the AA, pub group of the year from the Good Pub Guide and being included in Condenast Traveller’s ‘Best British luxury pubs with rooms‘.
For things to do in the area, please click here.